Best Vegan Options at Subway

Wondering how to order vegan at Subway? This guide has everything you'll need to order a veggie sub, wrap, salad, dairy-free snacks, and beyond. While the Subway veggie patty is vegetarian, it contains eggs and isn't vegan. And there's no vegan meat or cheese on the menu (yet!) — but you can still piece together a passable vegan lunch when you're on a road trip or in a pinch.
post featured image
How to Eat Vegan at Subway Sign
This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I make a small commission off items you purchase at no additional cost to you. Please read my policy page.

Did you know that there are more Subway shops around the world than any other restaurant chain? With more than 44,000 locations in 110 countries, Subway is the largest restaurant chain in the world. That’s a lot of sandwiches. The big question is––are there any vegan options for us?

Like it or not, there will probably come a time when you land at a Subway, and when that moment comes, we’re here to help you navigate the menu and figure out what you can get that’s vegan. While it’s not the best place to get a smashing, vegan-friendly sandwich, there are a few lunch variations if you’re famished. Especially if you love veggies.

If you’re looking for a fast-food establishment that has more on the menu for vegans, check out Togo’s (similar to Subway—but waaay better), Chipotle (Tofu Sofritas), Taco Bell (almost everything on their menu can be made vegan—or “fresco” style), Burger King (Impossible Whopper), Carl Jr.’s (Beyond Star Burger), Del Taco (Beyond Burrito & Beyond Tacos), and White Castle (Impossible Sliders).

Side view of a Subway veggie sub filled with lettuce, pickles, peppers, tomatoes and lettuce.
Subway Veggie Sandwich (Source: @subway on Instagram)

Vegan Menu Options at Subway

Subs and Wraps

There are not a ton of specialty sandwiches and wraps but at least there’s something! The Veggie Delite has been a staple among vegans and vegetarians for years, and just recently, the Veggie Patty was made completely vegan-friendly!

  • Veggie Delite
  • Veggie Patty (note: in the US the vegan patty may not be available at all locations)

Vegan Breads at Subway

Unfortunately, many of Subway’s breads are not vegan. Some of the specialty breads include ingredients such as milk, eggs, cheese, or even honey. Luckily, there are still many breads to choose from that are vegan, and some of these are rather exciting!

  • Artisan Flatbread
  • Hearty Multigrain
  • Artisan Italian (white)
  • Plain Wrap
  • Sourdough
  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato Basil Wrap


  • Guacamole


  • Veggie Delite (tip: add the Veggie Patty to make it more filling)
Veggie Delite Salad at Subway Served in a Plastic Container
Veggie Delite Salad at Subway


The sauces can really make or break the sandwich and luckily there are quite a few vegan-friendly options at Subway:

  • BBQ
  • Buffalo (has butter flavor, but not actual butter)
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Oil Blend
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Spicy Brown Mustard
  • Sweet Onion Teriyaki Sauce


  • Black Pepper
  • Oregano
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Sub Spice


  • Musselman’s Apple Sauce
  • Lay’s Chips (Classic, Baked Plain, Barbeque, Salt & Vinegar, Lightly Salted, Kettle Original, Kettle Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt, Limon)
  • Sun Chips (Original only)
A wrapped Subway sandwich and a bag of Lay's potato chips laid out on red gingham blanket  on the grass.
Large Subway sandwich and Lay’s Classic Chips lunch option. (Source: @subway on Instagram)

Plant-Based Soups at Subway

Sadly, there used to be both a Black Bean and Mediterranean Vegetable soup option on the menu, but neither are included on the menu at the present moment. It might be worth checking at your local Subway to see if they still offer these savory soups.

Subway Veggies

Regardless of which sandwich, wrap, or salad you decide to get, don’t hesitate to load up on all the veggies:

  • Avocado
  • Banana Peppers
  • Black Olives
  • Cucumbers
  • Green Peppers
  • Jalapenos
  • Lettuce (iceberg)
  • Pickles
  • Red Onion
  • Spinach
  • Tomato


  • Coca Cola Fountain Sodas
  • Hot Coffee
  • Freshly Brewed Iced Tea
  • Honest Kids Juice Drinks
  • Simply Drinks (apple/orange/lemonade)
  • Gatorade
  • Bottled Water
  • Vitamin Water
  • Hubert’s Lemonade
A large glass of Subway fresh brewed iced tea inside of a little pink flamingo inflatable toy.
Subway Beverage Choice: Fresh Brewed Iced Tea (Source: @subway on Instagram)

Vegan Subway Meal Ideas

When it comes to making a meal at Subway, it’s pretty simple using the list of vegan options above. You can design your own sandwich, wrap, or salad, and feel free to go rogue with the ingredients available (you don’t need to stick to pre-set subs listed on their menu).

Don’t be afraid to ask for guacamole on your salad, an extra Veggie Patty, or grab a bag of chips and add them to your sandwich. That sort of creativity is key to creating a satisfying meal. Here are some meal ideas to get you started:

  • A Veggie Delite salad with extra veggies, beverage, side of bread (toasted), and applesauce. Request a Veggie Patty on the side so you can crumble it up and add it to the top of your salad.
  • Large Veggie Delite or Veggie Patty (wrap or sub) with extra veggies of your choice, add a variety of sauces, beverage, and crispy chips.

So don’t lose hope, dear reader. With a little creativity, you can absolutely make these options work! If you need more inspiration, check out this video where we show what a vegan order at Subway looks like. Take a peek!

Gluten-Free Vegan Options at Subway

If you are gluten intolerant, your choices are much more limited. Only the salad option is suitable for you. Unfortunately, their gluten-free bread contains eggs (and is therefore not vegan). Currently, the Veggie Patty does not include gluten (only soy) so you may want to add that to your salad option for a more satiating meal.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Subway have vegan cheese?

Sadly, there aren’t any widely available plant-based cheeses at Subway (yet). This means you’re working with breads, a possible veggie patty, fresh veggies, sides, dressings, and chips to compile a workable meal.

Is There Avocado or Hummus on the Subway Menu?

Subway was testing hummus out in the US in 2014 but it is no longer available nationwide. However, they do still offer smashed avocado.

Is the Subway Veggie Patty vegan?

The Subway Veggie Patty is once again vegan-friendly––yay! In the past, this patty included milk and eggs in the ingredients. But, luckily, their recently updated July 2022 ingredients list shows that these animal products have been taken out.

What is the Subway vegan patty made of?

The components of this patty include: carrots, onions, green beans, oat bran, expeller pressed canola oil, zucchini, soybeans, peas, broccoli, corn, soy flour, spinach, red bell peppers, arrowroot powder, garlic, corn starch, corn meal, salt, methyl cellulose, parsley, and black pepper. So, if you’re gluten-free, this might be a good option for you, too.

Ask Subway for Better Vegan Options

While the current sub-options at Subway are currently subpar here in the US, there are many signs that they may be evolving to offer better options in the near future. Subway has been toying with the idea of adding vegan meat to their menu for years, and Subway’s Brazil locations even rolled out an Italian sub with vegan meat and cheese in early 2020. If they start rolling these sorts of options out at all their locations, it will be a true game-changer.

So remember—your voice matters. Keep asking when you visit and let the company know you’d like more vegan options. Use word of mouth, call, email, and message the brand on social media. The more people who request veggie alternatives, the sooner they’ll add those items to their menu.

Have you found any other options to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Let us know by tagging #worldofvegan and sharing your favorite vegan creations at Subway with all of us!

Disclaimer: At the time of this Subway article (last updated in December 2022), the foods mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.

newsletter offer

Get Our FREE Vegan Shopping List

Whether you love it or hate it, we all have to go grocery shopping, and it can be a little intimidating when you first start eating vegan. Our beginner-friendly shopping list includes all the grocery essentials you'll need make many satisfying vegan meals! You'll also receive a blank shopping list you can customize yourself, plus our weekly e-newsletter with delicious plant-based recipes.

Thank you for subscribing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Love the different options so good!

  2. Andrea White says:

    Need to try their veggie patty! Thanks for such a detailed guide!

  3. Great guide! This will come in next time I’m at a Subway!

  4. Glad to see the veggie patty is vegan now! I’m going to have to try it next time I’m at Subway.

  5. What is the substitute meat for vegans made out of at Subway

Stay Inspired!

Thank you for subscribing!